Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Second Day of Yum: Gumdrops Suck. December 13, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 3:03 pm
Tags: , ,

When you were a kid, did you ever construct a mini “gingerbread” house out of graham crackers and icing?  We did that in school, and I remember thinking, “This isn’t gingerbread…”  I wanted real gingerbread.

Fast forward twenty years later and I just make my own damn gingerbread.  I don’t do houses though.  Henry wanted to one year, and that was a job and a half.  I like constructing anything out of food, but I need some better supplies at my disposal.

My sister-in-law’s family is largely Cuban, so one Christmas I brought a giant Cuban gingerbread snowman to their casa.

Decked.  Out.

No gumdrop buttons for this guy.  I hate gumdrops, but I felt they should be included somehow… y’know, because of this.  And I’ve just noticed how odd his feet are.  Eh, doesn’t matter, they were delicious.

I like this recipe for gingerbread.  Easy to veganize (I subbed palm oil shortening), easy to put together, and you can make your cookies as tender or as crispy as you please.  Go on.  Try it.

Mmm, brown mass.

I’m saving my dough for later, but I cut out one gingerbread man to show you this little trick.  If you have cookie cutters of the same shape in different sizes, that would be best.  But if you’re poor and resourceful like me, you take a little knife and cut out the center of the shape.  Then you fill it with broken hard candy, like Life Savers, Jolly Ranchers, etc.

These Life Savers are a year old now.  Lolz.

And then after the cookie has baked, you have a translucent gingerbread man!

I should’ve used the green Life Saver…

Eh, doesn’t matter, tastes delicious.

Edit: Feeling lazy about decorating gingerbread?  Try gingerbread stars.  You can find edible pearl dust at cake supply stores.  Just dip a brush in and tap it onto the unbaked cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers