Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

What to do with lychee… June 2, 2011

Filed under: Interestin' Food Info,Recipes — rabbit @ 12:51 pm
Tags:

…besides just eating it.  A friend of mine acquired an abundance of lychee fruits, and was wondering how to get creative with them.

First of all, fyi, lychees are a rare fruit that originally come from South China.  They like warm, tropical weather, so they are rather popular in Florida, the Caribbean, and southeast Asia.  They’re pretty interesting-looking; similar in size to a strawberry, and with bumpy red skin.  The flesh inside is white or light pink, and soft.  Their taste is unique, but very sweet.  And of course, they’re good for you.  Lots of vitamin C so you don’t get scurvy.

But what to do with them?  Personally, I’ve only had lychees once in my life, and they were canned.  I bought them just so I could finally taste lychee.  Fortunately, I still remember them pretty well, and can think of some possibilities.  I’ll categorize.

Beverages

*Lychee milkshake!  Blend with some milk and ice cream, and boom.  I think mango ice cream would be especially awesome.

*Smoothies.  Buddy those lychees up with fruits like mango, pineapple, banana, strawberries, raspberries, kiwi, etc.  Throw in a bunch of spinach or kale, too.  I promise you won’t taste it. Seriously.

*Make your own lychee vodka.  Just toss some of those babies in the bottle and let it mellow.

Condiments

*Jam.  I’m sure you could find a regular strawberry jam recipe and sub in the lychees.  Or combine fruits!

*Salad dressing.  Blend them with white wine vinegar, a bit of dijon mustard, a dash of salt and pepper.  Slowly drizzle in olive oil.  I think cilantro would be awesome in there as well.

*Salsa.  There are lots of mango and/or peach salsa recipes.  Sub in some lychee!

Savory Dishes

*Caribbean inspired baked beans?  I was thinking: Mix garbanzo beans with some chopped lychee, onion, garlic, bell pepper, a bit of sugar, mustard, and spices like turmeric, cumin, ginger, thyme, cayenne pepper… Then bake until it’s all hot and having a party.  It might work :)

*Biryani.  Which is basically an Indian rice pilaf.  There are tons of recipes online for them, and I bet if you just throw in some lychee with the rest of the add-ins, it will be interesting.  Or go the Spanish route and do paella!

*Maybe use some of that salad dressing idea^ on grilled veggies, tofu, or mixed with grains like rice, quinoa, couscous, etc.

Sweets

*Lychee bars?  Like, as opposed to lemon bars.  Maybe the lemon juice could be replaced with pureed lychee.

*Popsicles, of course.  Blend them with some yogurt and/or other fruits and freeze in popsicle molds.

*Just freakin’ pour some chocolate sauce over them.  YEAH.

If all else fails, I found this great website.  Hope I helped ^_^

 

One Response to “What to do with lychee…”

  1. Thanks! I tried that Caribbean inspired baked beans, except I added more things to your suggestions, and subtracted others and served it over tomato rice, so it really wasn’t that Caribbean at all lol! Drew found it to be amazing though :D Maybe I will post it on my own blog… with a photo of what’s left of it lol.

    One thing about the texture of lychee though, they are easier to tear apart than they are to chop. At least, in my experience :)

    Thank you for all the suggestions! I will definitely try more of them the next time I have lychee :D


Leave a Reply

