Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Garbanzos travel to Thailand June 4, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 8:35 am
Tags: , ,

In my documents folder, I have a Hummus Archival.  I know.  Weirdo.  It makes sense though, I swear… It’s a list of all my crazy hummus ideas separated into which ones I’ve done, and which ones I still need to make.  Because hummus is not just for the middle east.  It’s flexible.  Hummus likes tangy, spicy, sweet, earthy, pungent, and all sorts of other flavors.  I mean, it’s bean dip.  And beans can go anywhere, do anything.  And they provide so much protein, vitamins, and minerals… They’re like superheroes.

So yesterday I experimented with Red Curry Hummus.

Here are the travel guides.

1/4 cup of creamed coconut; red curry paste; lime juice; soy sauce

I used the coconut cream and water in the absence of coconut milk.  I would prefer to try that next time I have it.  And perhaps some coconut oil.  Traditionally, Thai curries have fish sauce.  But soy sauce will make a sufficient vegetarian substitute.

  So I started with a Tbsp of curry paste, a Tbsp of soy sauce, 2 Tbsp of lime juice, the coconut cream, and of course, a 16 oz can of garbanzo beans.  Or chickpeas, whatever you wanna call them.

After the first whirlwind, I tasted it.  Needed more curry paste, so I put an extra tablespoon.  And more coconut flavor, so I threw in a couple tablespoons of unsweetened coconut flakes.  Also a little hot water to smooth things out.

  Round 2.  Still needed more coconut.  I added two more tablespoons.  And another 1-2 teaspoons of soy sauce.

That was better.

First you get a hit with a tang of lime juice and lemongrass from the curry paste.  Then the other flavors of curry play out– garlic, ginger, and a mellow coconut flavor.  There’s some texture from the shredded coconut as well.  The heat emerges last, and lingers at the back of your throat, but it’s not intense.  It’s niiice.  You can of course adjust all these quantities if you make it yourself.  I like my curries native-style in terms of heat, which means that I’m insane.  But y’know, what’re you gonna do?

As you can see, this recipe is in progress.  When I get some coconut milk, and hopefully coconut oil, I will make it more awesome.  And you’ll be like, “Aaaaahhhh”.

 

4 Responses to “Garbanzos travel to Thailand”

  1. Sarah Tolle Says:

    This looks amazing! I am going to give this a shot this evening! Thanks for posting this!

  2. Some of my most favorite things together in one dish?? Awesome.

  3. […] for a hand-held version, make different types of hummus, and spread them on whole grain breads.  I highly recommend sprouted breads, as they are more nutrient and […]

  4. […] impending need to make hummus.  If you keep up here, that may come as no surprise.  If it does, you’re missing […]


Leave a Reply

