Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

More Mango July 5, 2011

Filed under: Interestin' Food Info,Recipes — rabbit @ 9:12 am
Tags: , ,

I can’t believe there was a time in my life when I did not like mangoes.  Granted, there was a time in my life when I didn’t like a lot of fruits and vegetables.  But then you grow up, you wise up, and you realize that mangoes are the shiz-nit.

And as if anyone needs more reason to eat mango besides the fact that it is indeed, the shiz-nit, you should know how awesome it is for you.  The industry doesn’t acknowledge it so much (probably because mangoes are not as profitable or something), but mangoes are “superfruits”.  They can help protect against leukemia, and cancers that affect the colon, breasts, and prostate.  They’re not only loaded with vitamin C, like many fruits, but also deliver a good punch of copper, potassium, and vitamins A, E, and B6.  Good stuff for your blood and skin.  Mangoes will help make you sexy.

Mangoes will also make a nice addition to cake.  Cupcakes, that be.

I adapted this recipe from regular banana cupcakes that I found on Crepes of Wrath.  Simply, I subbed mango for some of the banana.  And I veganized it.

Mango-Banana Cupcakes

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer

1/4 cup shortening (I use a non-hydrogenated palm oil shortening)

1/2 cup vegan butter substitute

1 3/4 cups sugar

1 tsp rum (or vanilla extract if you must…)

2 ripe bananas

1 cup fresh mango pulp

1/2 cup non-dairy milk, soured (just mix a couple teaspoons of lemon juice or vinegar with the half-cup of milk)

1) Preheat your oven to 325°F.  Line your cupcake tins.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour through Ener-G powder).  Set aside.

Snack on an apple while you work.

2) Measure out your other ingredients so that they’re ready to go.  Put the shortening and “butter” in a large bowl.

3) With an electric mixer, beat the shortening and butter until well-blended and creamy.  Beat in the sugar and rum.  Then add your bananas and mango pulp.  You’ll be able to puree them with the mixer.

4) Then you’re going to alternate adding the flour mixture and the soured milk.  Start with 1/3 of the dry mix, then half of the milk, the second third of flour, the rest of the milk, and the last of the flour.  After each addition, mix til just blended, and scrape down the bowl with a rubber spatula.  After you add the second half of the milk, just stir in the rest of the flour by hand.

5) Batter is ready.  Fill your cupcake liners 2/3 of the way.  Use an ice cream scoop if you have one, to make sure the tins are evenly filled.  This recipe makes 24 average-sized cupcakes.  If like me, you only have one cupcake tin that holds 12, you’ll have to bake in two rounds.  Bake them for 30-35 min, or until golden brown, and a toothpick comes out clean (though a crumb or two is okay).  Once you’ve measure out all your batter, I highly recommend licking the bowl and spatula.  So.  Damn.  Good.

Now it’s up to you what you want to do with them.  I poked holes in them as soon as they came out of the oven and brushed them with more rum.

This is what we have at home.  And while Sailor Jerry is fantastic, I wish I had a mango-flavored rum.  But I’m poor.

The cupcakes taste mostly of banana, but the mango adds a fresh hint of something else.  I’m sure mango could replace the bananas in the recipe entirely, but since they’re more watery, there might have to be some other adjustments.  So not exactly the flavor I was aiming for, but delicious nonetheless.  I also decided to go with coconut frosting again.  I mean, I still had some leftover from the Lucuma Cupcakes

And then I took them to a partay.  And we totally partayed.

 

3 Responses to “More Mango”

  1. Allie Says:

    My partay! Well, David’s partay. I can confirm that these were delicious.

  2. Tatiana Says:

    I think I know why they weren’t very mango-ey, it may be the type of mango you used. I have both the yellow variety and pink-green variety in my backyard and what I’ve noticed is that the yellow one has a very juicy flesh that comes apart (“melts”) easily and a very subtle flavor. My dad (and other Cubans) call this the “mango para chupar” or mangoes for sucking, not slicing, because you can literally peel away the skin and suck on it. The pink-green ones are harder to peel because their flesh is more condensed, more solid (better for slicing) and also have a stronger mango flavor. Next time try the pink-green ones and see if that changes the cupcake flavor! =)

  3. […] I store them in the freezer.  Then they are at my immediate disposal for goodies like this.   And this.   And this, of […]


Leave a Reply

