Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Mean Green Hummus July 21, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 1:13 pm
Tags: ,

I’m going on a journey this weekend.  A journey to see familiar faces in a faraway place.  A journey to see two lovers smooch it up in front of others, and then probably get drunk.  Yaaay.

And because it will be quite a journey– about seven to eight hours long– I’m bringin’ schnacks.  Yes, schnacks, indeed.

Here’s how you can make one of the schnacks that me, my best friend, and my boyfriend will be enjoying along our journey.

Start with 2 cups of frozen sweet peas, thawed;

half a lemon; half an avocado;

and a handful of fresh basil leaves.

Then we’re gonna get a little fancy with the basil:

First you’re gonna layer the leaves together.  They look cute, no?

Roll them up.

Then slice your little basil burrito thinly.

And that’s how you chiffonade.  Fyi.

Anywho, throw everything into the food processor.  Except the lemon… just squeeze the juice from it.  Duh, right?  Start blending.  Add a little water to smooth out the consistency.  If you like, you can drizzle a little tahini (aka sesame paste), like I did.  Or olive oil.  Or both.  Whatever.

Salt and pepper too, of course.  I thought about adding other spices, but really, this stuff doesn’t need anything else.  It’s like you can feel the love the four main ingredients have for each other.  Mmmm.

And there you have my Mean Green Hummus.  Suuuuuper healthy, suuuuuper yum.

Good for dipping raw veggies, pita, crackers, fingers, toes, etc.

See you next week!

 

5 Responses to “Mean Green Hummus”

  1. Looks awesome, My last houmous looked green too, but that was because of coriander, green chilli and lime. Yum. I really like the idea of making houmous out of different things.

  2. […] for a hand-held version, make different types of hummus, and spread them on whole grain breads.  I highly recommend sprouted breads, as they are more […]

  3. […] to make hummus.  If you keep up here, that may come as no surprise.  If it does, you’re missing […]

  4. […] that was the first time I ever made guacamole!  I know!  I’ve used avocado in soup, hummus, stuffed it, and probably done some other crazy stuff you shouldn’t even know about…. […]


Leave a Reply

