Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Free Fancy Salt for Me! August 17, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 10:46 am
Tags: , ,

I think you all need a recipe.  You’ll like this one.

But first…

See, I have a pile of clothing scraps that I need to get rid of.  I’m not gonna donate scraps to Goodwill, but I sure as hell don’t want to just throw them in the garbage.  Many bag or shirt or dress can be made with these scraps.  So I went to the Yellow & Green Farmer’s Market.  The last time I was there, a couple of the vendors were clothing designers who worked with recycled material.  So I thought they could use my odds and ends.  But the last time I had been to the market was also a while ago.  I found that things had changed around the market– new vendors, new lunch stations, a mini bar… and of course, the designers I was looking for weren’t there.  Aaaaw.  Sad.  Whatever.  I wandered around anyway.  Ate some samples.  And I made friends with a Salt Dude!  (That’s what he’s listed as on my phone.)  Salt Dude sells salt.  Nice salt.  Really delicious salt.  Like Toasted Onion, Chipotle, Thai Ginger, Merlot, Roasted Garlic… so much yum.

Salt Dude took a liking to me because I could identify the smell of Truffle Sea Salt.  So I told him what I do, and now I’m developing recipes with his salts.  And then I put them here.  Of course, you can also read about them here.  But if you want yerselves some great sea salt, you can check out Sierra’s Sea Salts (and taste them!) at the Yellow & Green Farmer’s Market, located in Hollywood, Flo’da, or you can shop online.  They really are wonderful (I wouldn’t be doing this if I didn’t think so), and the beauty with such potent and flavorful salts is that you don’t need much, so if you want to cook with reduced sodium, this is one way to do it.

Okay, so here’s the recipe:

Caramelized Onion Hummus with Alderwood Smoked Sea Salt

Ingredients for the caramelized onion:

1 large red sweet onion
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
2-3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

To caramelize the onion: Slice the onion very thinly; if you have a mandolin slicer, this would yield the best and quickest results, and hopefully the least pain and tears.  Pour the olive oil in a saucepan.  Add the sliced onion and toss to coat with the oil.  Cover and bring to medium heat.  Stir the onion occasionally as it wilts and deepens in color.  Don’t worry about the browning on the bottom of the pan.  As the onion cooks down, lower the heat so that it does not burn.  The onion is done when it is reduced to less than a cup in volume and is mildly sweet and soft.  Pour in the balsamic vinegar to deglaze the pan and stir, mixing the browned bits with the rest of the onion.  Remove from heat and set aside to cool.

Now THAT is a caramelized onion.  You might want to use two or three onions, so you have extra for other uses.  Like sammiches, salads, omelets, pizza, quiche… eating it with a spoon, etc.

Ingredients for the hummus:

The caramelized onion, cooled (about a scant cup, or to your taste)
1 15-oz can of butter beans (chickpeas, or any white bean are also fine)
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp molasses
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp Sierra’s Alderwood Smoked Sea Salt
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/8 tsp coriander
Fresh cracker pepper to taste

Blend all the ingredients in a food processor until thoroughly combined.  Adjust seasonings to your taste.

  I like this hummus because it’s a nice departure from the usual tangy and garlicky types (not that there’s anything wrong with that!  I love traditional hummus!).  It’s more mellow, and has a bit of sweet and smokey going on.  Just for looks, I topped it with a drizzle of olive oil and extra smoked sea salt.  I think it would also be great topped with creme fraiche if you wanna be fancy-pantsy about it.  I mean, we’re already using fancy salt, right?  Mmmm, fancy…

 

3 Responses to “Free Fancy Salt for Me!”

  1. […] for a hand-held version, make different types of hummus, and spread them on whole grain breads.  I highly recommend sprouted breads, as they are […]

  2. […] Sometimes, I feel an impending need to make hummus.  If you keep up here, that may come as no surprise.  If it does, you’re missing out. […]


Leave a Reply

