Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

The Halloween Party November 1, 2011

On Saturday, Henry and I went to a Halloween Party.  And got paid.

No, we’re not celebrities.  Yet.

Henry was the DJ and I catered some of the food.  Preeetty coool.

This weekend I found the weather appropriately wild and gloomy for the holiday.  I love when the rain comes down all heavy and crazy.  I hate, however, trying to pack things into the car while that’s happening.  And getting my dress wet, and stepping into the mud…  The inside of my car door was still wet the day after.  But I digress.

Here’s what was on the menu:

Tangy Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Goat Cheese & Pistachio Stuffed Mushrooms

Three types of sliders: Sweet & Spicy Peanut Butter w/ Fried Banana and Sweet Potato Chips; Granny Smith Apple w/ Goat’s Milk Gouda Cheese and Caramelized Onion & Fig Spread; and Portobello Carpaccio w/ Roasted Tomato and Avocado

Gluten-Free Brownies w/ a Cinnamon-Sugar Almond Topping

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Filled Cupcakes w/ Ginger Icing

Gluten-Free Booze Balls, loaded with Marsala Wine and Spiced Rum

The hostess doesn’t eat gluten or dairy, which is why all the sweets were gluten-free.  One of my happiest moments at the party was a guest tasting a cupcake and raving over it.  “I didn’t expect it to be that good!”  I’m pretty confident in my food, but responses like that are always nice.  Especially when it’s followed by requests for a separate occasion.  Unfortunately I didn’t have the time this weekend to fulfill it, but hey.  The peanut butter and banana sliders were another favorite, which I was relieved over because as I was making the peanut butter at home I started to hate it after tasting it so much.  When you cook and bake, sometimes it’s like having children.  Deep down you always love them, but a lot of the time, you just want to smack them out of the way.  With a shoe.

The tower of sliders.  From left to right: peanut butter & banana; apple, cheese & onion spread; portobello, tomato & avocado

Crazy Rabbit, preparing tiny sammiches.

I love my brownies.  They’re my favorite children.  I like the topping because it reminds me of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

The cupcakes.  I actually almost killed myself over the cake recipe.  The first three batters took a crap on me, so I finally just came up with a different recipe and voila.  My new go-to gluten-free cake batter.

Booze Balls.  Adapted from here.  I make them even more awesome, and they are a holiday MUST.  And no, that is not a crack rock on the right side of the bowl, it’s a clump if powdered sugar.  Maybe.

I didn’t get a picture of the pumpkin seeds, but you can imagine what they look like– pumpkin seeds… And the stuffed mushrooms you’ve seen before.

And then here’s me being cute!

Since Henry was playing mostly retro music I just glammed it up kinda old school style.  (I don’t have time for costume shopping!)  With the apron on I called myself a figment of men’s imaginations in the fifties.  And before the humidity ruined my hair it was all nice and bouncy.  But oh well.

And here’s my boyfriend.

He rides on the short bus.

 

One Response to “The Halloween Party”

  1. Tati Says:

    I can vouch for how delish the food was. Yum!


Leave a Reply

