Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

I. Am. PUMPKIN. November 23, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 9:45 am
Tags: , ,

As a follow-up to yesterday’s thoughts on calling people sweet potatoes, I figured you should know that the first nickname Henry ever gave me was “Pumpkin”.  I knooow, it’s so cute and gross.  It was pretty random, actually, and I think it was before we even started officially dating.  He just texted me one day saying, “You are a pumpkin”.  I accepted this on behalf of the fact that I have a round face and I could certainly be a pumpkin if I tried.  And I like pumpkin so why complain?  It’s kinda like being called a sweet potato, just weirder.  ;)

Every year I absolutely MUST make a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.  I MUST.  Because I am Pumpkin.  And I adore pumpkin pie.  I like to add little twists– candied ginger, different types of nuts, flavored crust.  Because if I’m gonna make it every year, I don’t want it to get boring, and I want to have something more to look forward to when making it.

This year I am particularly excited because of my idea for the crust: sweet potato chips and pecans.

It just seems like the right thing to do.

And the filling will have some spiced rum.  Because, um, duh?  I mean, I thought about bourbon, but I decided to save money and use what I already have.

Making a vegan pumpkin pie by the way, is pretty easy.  Just about the same as making it with eggs and dairy.  For the past few years, I’ve adapted my recipe from this one.  And it always comes out quite nice.

Pumpkin Pie with Sweet Potato Chip & Pecan Crust

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups sweet potato chips

1 1/2 cups pecans

1/4 cup sugar

a few dashes of salt and cinnamon

3-4 Tbsp olive oil

 

1/4 cup arrowroot starch

3/4 cup non-dairy milk

1 15-oz can pumpkin puree

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tbsp molasses (optional)

1/4 cup spiced rum (if you wanna leave the booze out, you can substitute apple juice, extra milk, or even water)

1/2 tsp salt

spices of your choice

1) Preheat the oven to 375°F.  In a food processor, combine the sweet potato chips, pecans, salt, 1/4 cup of sugar and cinnamon.

2) Finely chop and transfer to a bowl.  Using your hand or a wooden spoon, gradually mix in the olive oil until the ground chips and pecans can be pressed together.

3) Press the mixture into a pie plate.

4) Bake for about 10 minutes, or until it starts to lightly brown.  Don’t forget about it like I did.  I saved it just in time.

Whoops.  At least it won’t be seen.

5) Allow the crust to cool and begin the filling.  In a medium bowl, place the arrowroot, and gradually whisk in the milk until smooth.  Whisk in the remaining ingredients, and mix well.  For the spices I used a couple dashes each of ginger, allspice, cloves, and nutmeg, and a little extra of cinnamon.  You don’t have to use as much or as many spices, whatever floats your boat.

6) Pour the filling into the crust and smooth it out.  Bake 35-40 minutes (at 375), or until the pie looks set.

And here she is after a day in the fridge.  When I first took it out, the color was darker, most likely because of the molasses, so if you use it, keep that in mind.  Obviously it mellowed out after chilling.

Before I take it to Henry’s house tomorrow I’m going to top it with extra chips and pecans.  I’m hoping the crust is a success.  I already know it tastes good, I just hope the filling keeps it cohesive when slicing.  I’ll try to take pictures…

This concludes our first string of Guru Rabbit Thanksgiving recipes.  Now get your arses in the kitchen.

 

3 Responses to “I. Am. PUMPKIN.”

  1. Looks amazing. Being called pumpkin is definitely less weird than being called sweet potato. Calling someone sweet potato is essentially the same as calling someone carrot or celery…

  2. rabbit Says:

    Well… my boyfriend has also called me “salad”. Another friend has called me “lettuce leaf”… I guess I just have an affinity for using produce as pronouns ^_^

  3. […] not going to lie, this is based on last year’s pumpkin pie… Shut […]


Leave a Reply

