Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

No Cookies. Yet. December 8, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 2:21 pm
Tags: , , ,

So that was a nice little hiatus from here after Thanksgiving.

I’m lying, I missed you.  I just didn’t have the opportunity to get on here.

I’m lying, I totally did.  I  just didn’t make anything, didn’t think of anything to entertain you with at the moment.  Oh, I’ve got ideas.  TONS.  And I mean, I could’ve made some holiday cookies.  ‘Tis the season, after all.

Buuuuut I didn’t feel like it.  I’ve been battling sugar recently.  And it’s only December 8th!  There’s still 23 days of cookies, pies, cakes, chocolate and booze…  Yay<3

In light of that, here’s something to eat when you want to avoid a sugar coma and not feel all bloaty and stuff.  It’s a vegetarian ceviche, something I came up with for the Drunken Doughnut.  It fuses Peruvian cuisine with a few Japanese ingredients.  Barbara and I served it at the Boca Raton Food & Wine Festival, which I don’t have pictures of because the event was so crappily organized that we didn’t have time, proper lighting, nor electricity to catalog our glory.  But anywho, people liked my ceviche, so I made another version for you.

This recipe is almost completely raw.  It’s the marinade that’s not raw, because it’s mostly a handful of condiments mixed together.  Even the mushrooms I chose not to cook this time, as the marinade will ease them up for digestion.  If you want to, you can cook the mushrooms any way you like before adding the marinade, though I would suggest sauteeing them in sesame oil.

Wild Mushroom Ceviche

Ingredients:

approx. 1 lb wild mushrooms (Go for a variety if you can.  I used shiitake and enoki here.  For the Drunken Doughnut, I used shiitake, enoki, golden enoki, wood ear, and king oyster.  It was crazy!)

1 15-oz can palm hearts

1 small bunch of cilantro

For the Marinade:

1 large ripe tomato

2 cloves garlic

and the rest according to your taste preference…

ketchup (I know, I’m not supposed to like ketchup, but it’s a convenience here!)

lime juice

lemon juice

Peruvian yellow pepper paste

Peruvian red pepper paste

worcesteshire sauce (I used a vegan one, but you can use regular if you want)

rice vinegar

mirin (optional)

salt & pepper

 

These are shiitake mushrooms.  They’re great meat substitute shrooms because they have a deep, earthy flavor.  Remove the stems and slice the caps.  You can save the stems to make soup stock.

Then there’s enoki, which I first discovered at my faaaavorite Pan-Asian restaurant.  These little ones are delicate, and slightly sweet.  Enoki mushrooms really don’t need prior cooking, but if you must, make sure it’s brief.  They don’t like to be abused.

But you definitely want to trim off that dirty bottom.

Your best bet for crazy mushrooms is an Asian or international grocery store.  You could find some at Whole Foods, but they’ll probably be way more expensive.  So there.

And here you have mushrooms, sliced hearts of palm, and a handful of cilantro.  If you’re anti-cilantro, you can use parsley, but then we can’t be friends.

For the marinade, roughly chop the tomato and garlic.  Throw them in the food processor and hit puree.  As the processor runs, add a few tablespoons of ketchup, lime, and lemon juice.  Then a teaspoon each of the pepper pastes and worcesteshire sauce.  Maybe a little extra of the yellow pepper paste.  That one tastes awesome.

After that, a few drizzles of rice vinegar and mirin.  From there, taste the marinade and decide where you want to go with it.  If you want it to be more sweet, add more ketchup.  More tangy, more lime and vinegar.  More heat, more pepper paste.  Mo’ money, mo’ problems.  Et cetera.

Again, you can find these specialty ingredients for cheap at international grocery stores.  Except for the vegan worcesteshire sauce, which you will have to get at Whole Foods, or some other hippie haven.  Fyi, traditional worcesteshire sauce has anchovies in it, which is why it is not exactly vegetarian.  The anchovies provide that umami flavor that we are so in love with.  This vegan brand hits the spot by using apple cider vinegar, fermented soybeans, and a plethora of spices.  Ees veddy nice.

Don’t forget salt and pepper in your marinade.  That’d be ridiculous.

Then pour the marinade over the mushrooms and palm hearts.  Mix it up and refrigerate for at least a few hours, preferably overnight.  When you’re ready to serve the ceviche, slice or dice up some avocado, which you can use strictly as garnish, or toss with the rest of the mixture.  It’s way more awesome to toss the avocado into the ceviche, but I was trying to make it pretty for you…

Serve with some corn chips or rice crackers, and be awesome.

This dish will make you feel good about yourself.  This dish is a yummy excuse to bombard the dessert table.

To mix things up, you can incorporate other ingredients– sweet peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, olives, beans, corn, artichoke hearts, peas, tofu, cashews, etc.  I can even imagine sprinkling on some farmer’s cheese.  Hmm.

And yes, there will soon be dessert recipes.  I know you need them.  Like crack.

 

2 Responses to “No Cookies. Yet.”

  1. Allie Says:

    Wtf…My Peruvian ass needs to try this! Btw what the heck do you do with persimmons? I ate one raw and really didn’t like it. I think I’m going to try to puree them and make them into cookies.

  2. rabbit Says:

    Yeeeah, I don’t really like persimmons either. Then again, I’ve only had one in my life and that was many moons ago. But this guy loves them and has plenty of recipes, as well as an old entry on the different types so you can figure out which you have:
    http://www.vanillagarlic.com/search?q=persimmon&x=0&y=0


Leave a Reply

