Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

On the Third Day of Yum: Keep the Change, You Filthy Animal December 14, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — rabbit @ 4:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

So I’ve been itching to watch Home Alone the past couple of weeks.  When I was a kid my family recorded it onto VHS, like many movies we had, probably from a Blockbuster tape.  Illegal, I know.  Booyah.

I finally gave in and downloaded it last night, and Oh My God, it’s just as awesome as I remember.  I don’t usually like “family” movies, but this one appeals to my sense of humor.  Or rather, perhaps it helped shape my sense of humor.  Instead of being entirely slapstick, Home Alone actually employs some smart dialogue, and I’ve always been more amused by that, even when I was little.  (I can’t help being cooler than most people.)  Perhaps another connection I have with the movie is that it takes place in Chicago, during December.  If my calculations are correct, I was conceived in Chicago, during December.  Hm.  And now you know a little too much about me.

Plus, I spent way too much time memorizing the dialogue from that movie Kevin plays over and over.

Today I made pumpkin loaf for you.  With candied ginger.  And white chocolate.  I adapted it from this recipe, and made it (almost) vegan, lower in fat, and cheaper to make.  And it is just as awesome as Home Alone.

White Chocolate & Ginger Pumpkin Loaf

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup flour (I used white whole wheat.  Whole wheat pastry flour, or all-purpose will work as well)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp each of ginger and cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

1 cup white chocolate chunks

1/2 cup candied ginger, chopped

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup vegan butter subsitute

1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree

1 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice

1 Tbsp water

1/2 tsp vanilla

I am now convinced that all stars are made of candied ginger…

1) Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Line an 8×4 inch loaf pan with parchment paper, or aluminum foil.  If you use foil, grease it up.  In a small bowl, whisk together the flour through cloves.  Toss in the white chocolate and ginger and mix it all up.

Whenever I have add-ins, I like to mix them with the dry ingredients if possible.  This will keep the chunks from sinking to the bottom while baking, plus, prevent you from over-mixing the batter.

2) In a medium bowl, combine the sugar, faux butter, pumpkin, lemon juice, water and vanilla.  Beat with an electric mixer until well mixed.

3) Using a rubber or silicone spatula, fold in the dry ingredients, until there are no streaks of flour.

4) Spread the batter evenly into your pan.  I like to top it with a little extra ginger.

5) Bake 55-65 minutes, or until a wooden skewer comes out clean.  Make sure to test all around the loaf before you take it out of the oven, to make sure it is entirely cooked through.

Now go run some errands while the loaf cools, because if you’re around it, you’re gonna want to dig into it too early.  If you slice it while it’s still a little warm though, you’ll get some nice melty white chocolate in there.  Oh man.  This is one of the best pumpkin loaves ever.  EVER.  So get your ugly, yella, no-good keister in the kitchen and thank me later.

P.S. Joe Pesci’s SUPER awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

