Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Ghost Noodles January 23, 2012

Filed under: Interestin' Food Info,Recipes — rabbit @ 10:04 am
Tags: , ,

I meant to write/post this yesterday… but damn, I hate Sundays.  I know most people hate Mondays, but I’m actually refreshed on Monday.  On Sunday I feel leaden with BLAH.  I attribute this to a Catholic upbringing.

Anywho...  Have you heard of shirataki noodles?  They’re made from the tuber-like stem of a plant called konjac (which also goes by various other names but you can just Wiki that).   The plant is found in India, China, Korea, and Japan, and is used to make flour and jelly-like foods.  It’s very high in fiber, and extremely low in calories, which of course, makes it a good diet food.  And leave it to the tiny-waisted Japanese to make a noodle that’s practically calorie-free.

The ones I bought are studded with bits of seaweed, but you can find plain ones, as well as tofu-based shirataki.  Regular grocery stores may have them, but you’re better off going to the Asian market.  There are “wet” and “dry” packages.  The wet ones are pretty much ready to go, and packaged in liquid.  You can find those in the refrigerated section.  I’ve yet to work with dry shirataki.  Like most noodles, they lack flavor and serve as a blank canvas for whatever you’re making.  I was looking to make something reminiscent of a ramen pack.  You know, salty, savory, mysteriously addictive…

Collegiate Shirataki

Ingredients:

1-2 tsp sesame oil (you can use other oils, but this will yield more of that “Japanese” flavor)

veggies/protein of your choice (or not, but we’re trying to be healthy, right?)

1 small package of shirataki noodles (any type)

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp curry powder

1/2 cup or more of water or vegetable broth (depending on how soupy you like your noodles)

soy sauce to taste

1) Heat the sesame oil in a medium saucepan, and saute your veggies.  Once they’re cooked, add the noodles.

If you’re cool, you cook with chopsticks.

2) Add the remaining ingredients, and let it simmer a few minutes.  Like I said, feel free to add more liquid if you’d like.

And that’s pretty much it.  Adjust the seasoning if need be.  You probably won’t need any salt if you use enough soy sauce.  If you want to go totally fat-free, omit the oil and just throw everything together and simmer.  But I mean, a little fat is definitely a good thing…

Enjoy with your fancy chopsticks.  (Or the ones you stole from Pei Wei, whatever.)

 

4 Responses to “Ghost Noodles”

  1. Allie Q Says:

    I know what Shiritaki noodles are! When I saw they were 40 calories per serving and low carb my inner psuedo-anorexic went ape shit. That’s probably not a good thing to admit, is it? lol whatever. Then when I tasted them my inner fat girl said, “needs Ramen noodle spices.” I will try this, but without the chopsticks. Because my fingers are retarded.

    • rabbit Says:

      Hellz yeah. In our society, I think there’s a psuedo-anorexic girl in all of us (I feed mine with alcohol…) I think these would also make awesome pad Thai.

  2. Great post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much. You have an excellent blog here.

    Love Delicious Recipes?.

    Check out – Today’s Recipes

  3. […] alongside some brown rice, or noodles such as soba, udon, or shirataki!  As you can see, I bought some Japanese rice seasoning, which comprises of sesame seed, dried […]


Leave a Reply

