Guru Rabbit

Turn a new leaf (and EAT it)

Marshmallows and the Plaid Chicken June 20, 2012

Filed under: Random,Recipes — rabbit @ 9:23 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve taken upon myself a special project for my mum.  She has about a bazillion photos from the past 60 years or so.  Most of them are of our family, of course.  Slowly but surely, I’m sorting them all out.  Each box I go through gets separated into different categories.  Once each box is empty, the different categories will be divided into subcategories.  In between all that, I have to toss the ones that are blurry or dark, irrelevant, or excessive (my mom has triple prints of some photos.  TRIPLE.).  It’s kind of a fun job, since I’ve always loved looking at the old photos.  Then again, sometimes images, nostalgia, and memory can kind of weigh down on you.

  

“Und how does zat make you feel?”

But I won’t talk about the contents of my family’s and my nut-case files.

After going through some of my baby and toddler photos, however, I’ve realized a few things about myself:

1) Feet are awesome.

“Dude.  Look at them.  They’re fuzzy.”

2) My love for fruit and all things fruity began at a very young age.

“I freakin’ love this pear, OMG!!?!?!”

3) I was secretly a member of the Beatles.

Look at that hair.  Look at it.

4) Like many children of the 80s, I was a hipster before it was cool.

That sweater rocks so hard.  Bert and Ernie were my inspiration.

And 5) I would kill to have this dress again. KILL.

There’s a freakin’ plaid chicken on that dress, people.

Alas… that dress is long gone.  I hate life.

We’ll have to make do with vegan marshmallows, lemon zest, and olive oil.

Yeah.

And melt it all down.

Add some of that crispy rice cereal stuff.  Or Cheerios, I dunno.  And press into a pan.

And then when it’s cool, cover in chocolate if desired.  Why wouldn’t you?

Cut.

Every child should make “Rice Krispies” treats.  And with the twist of lemon in here, they taste kinda like Froot Loops.  I swear.

Lemony Rice Krispies Treats

1 10-oz bag marshmallows (vegan is optional… you’re cooler if you use the vegan ones though)

zest and juice of 2 lemons

2 Tbsp olive oil (you can use butter, but I was feeling fancy, and also wanted to keep this vegan)

4-6 cups crispy rice cereal (or some other plainly flavored cereal)

dark chocolate to coat or drizzle (optional)

1) In a large saucepan, combine the marshmallows, lemon zest, juice, and olive oil.  Over low heat, melt the marshmallows while stirring to combine everything.  Remove from heat once melted.

2) Add the cereal.  Start with 4 cups, and if you feel it needs more, keep going.  Stir to coat evenly.  Press the mixture into a 9×13 inch pan lined with parchment paper.  Allow to cool.

If desired, melt the chocolate with a little olive oil or butter and spread or drizzle over the cereal.  Let the chocolate set before cutting (you can put it in the fridge or freezer to speed up the process).

Chocolate and lemon.  Almost better than that chicken dress.

 

Leave a Reply

